Walking Out On Faith

Standard

I promised myself that after our side trip to Cuba I would come home and start packing. Well the packing has begun.  Yesterday I started paring our life down to just a handful of boxes (my goal is three) and a couple of ready suitcases.  Given how relatively nomadic my life has been, reducing our family’s belongings to those items that are historically most crucial (e.g., children’s art projects and awards), gets easier every time I do it…but I always have to ask myself, “Am I letting too much go, should I hold on to this piece and that piece?”

The reality for me is that we are more than the collection of items that sit on our shelves or gather dust in boxes that we only open when we are moving.  I am more than that collection of 1st love, love letters, that I have towed around with me for the last 20 years.  I am more than the sum of things that I thought were important once, but no longer.

So our spring cleaning has begun. Today I paid for my next two months of rent and gave my landlord my notice.  Hooray for small victories!

Always at moments like these, when I stand ready on the precipice of significant change, I visualize an image that gives me strength and conviction.  I imagine Jesus walking on water, a miracle born through his unfailing faith in God, and I imagine myself, unfailing in my belief that God will always protect and guide me, walking on a sea of change, buoyed by God’s grace. This gives me the strength to proceed without fear.

Can I get an AMEN!!

About The Black Gringa

In 2010, I left the world of finance to pursue entrepreneurial aspirations and I now own an educational services company. I also provide consulting and workshops to international schools seeking to improve their outcomes. To facilitate this work, I spend 2-3 months annually living in a different part of the world with my family. These travels provide the day-to-day insight required to speak knowledgeably about living in these destinations, with the goal of seeking to live abundantly and joyfully with home comforts at a fraction of the cost.

2 responses »

  1. OMG… I just posted the same thing the other day! I have a storage unit in DC of stuff that I just don’t really need… So, I’m letting it all go… Tis the season, it seems.

    So happy for you!!!

Leave a Reply

