This Could Not Happen in Cuba

Standard

I have to digress from my typical international chatter, to look in my own backyard and talk about what I see.  And what I see is the lifeless body of a  young man, face down in wet grass, with a bag of skittles and a cup of  ice tea in his hands.  What I see is his killer, free with no charges pressed against him.  What I see is a society so consumed by its own prejudices that each human life is not value weighted the same.   And what I see is a society that has become even more entrenched in its own misconceptions that we are all drowning.   This is what I see…but do they see me?

This morning Leonard Pitts, Jr. of The Baltimore Sun, wrote an exceptional piece on invisibility, that captures exactly how I feel right now (click here to read the full article).  My heart burns and breaks for this life taken, for a family’s loss, for the thousands (yes thousands) of lives that are impacted daily and negatively, by the same ignorance and sense of entitlement that led someone to so callously take what God had given… a human life.

I sit here and I cry for a boy I never knew, a family I will never meet.  My tears are for the daily injustices that so many of us live with right here in our own backyard.   This could not have happened in Cuba…yet, in the US we are “free”.

This is for Trayvon Martin and all the others like him, known and unknown, whose lives are sacrificed in large and small ways, at the altar of ignorance.

In the name of God; the Merciful; the Compassionate – بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَـٰنِ الرَّحِيمِ
May the peace, mercy, and blessings of God be with you – السلام عليكم ورحمة الله وبركاته

About The Black Gringa

In 2010, I left the world of finance to pursue entrepreneurial aspirations and I now own an educational services company. I also provide consulting and workshops to international schools seeking to improve their outcomes. To facilitate this work, I spend 2-3 months annually living in a different part of the world with my family. These travels provide the day-to-day insight required to speak knowledgeably about living in these destinations, with the goal of seeking to live abundantly and joyfully with home comforts at a fraction of the cost.

Leave a Reply

