Final Stages for New Beginnings

Standard

I just realized that it has been 3 weeks since my last post and time has just flown by.  So that said, I wanted to give you an update regarding our pending move to “way down yonder”.

  1. Our flights have been purchases and accommodation taken care of, for our two month stay in Cuba.  For those of you just joining in on the conversation, the original plan was to go to Cuenca, Ecuador this summer and build our lives from the ground up again…which, by the way, is still very appealing.  But of course, we went to Cuba last month, I was seduced by the warm climate, gregarious personalities, and living history…not to mention the eye candy!   In all seriousness, as an entrepreneur, it is very difficult for me to wrap my head around the notion that 90% of the economy is government owned and private business is so heavily taxed that it might as well be government owned.  It’s an interesting notion and one I plan to explore more fully when I’m on the ground.
  2. I have consolidated most of our life into 1 suitcase.  Granted it’s filled with mini skirts, sun dresses, tank tops, shorts and other summertime paraphernalia (no sweaters here).  The packing effort which began several weeks ago, has resulted in serious soul searching regarding the value I place on cloths and things versus memories.  No point in traveling with Indian saris, abayas from Abu Dhabi, and Africana from Senegal, so those will sit in storage at my sister’s.  The Brooks Brother suit is just too beautiful to let go of, but all of my “business” blouses and Ann Taylor odds and ends were donated to and are now hanging on racks at my local Goodwill…really, I saw them on the racks!
  3. Craigslist is my best friend when it comes to moving and relocation because now my apartment is mostly empty.  IKEA dressers, file cabinets, kitchen carts, carpets, desks, etc., have an incredible way of sprouting feet and leaving quickly when they are posted in craigslist ads.  It’s a wonderful thing and now I am just left with the basics to give my youngest sister to furnish her first apartment or donate to the St. Vincent de Paul Society.
  4. I have purchased gifts for all our friends and new family in Cuba, which is exactly what I would do if I was going back to Sierra Leone to visit.  As a guest, you must come bearing gifts…it’s just the polite and considerate thing to do.  The great thing about Cuba is that because things are limited and relatively expensive, relatively small gifts are really appreciated and valued.  Between gifts, shoes, bed sheets (I’m very particular and never leave home without them), towels, and bags, we filled up a second suitcase.  The third suitcase will be all the things I just couldn’t leave behind and our school curriculum materials for the next year.  No matter where we are in the world, we will still homeschool this coming year.
  5. My company officially closes down this Friday and we are leaving our town in under 3 weeks to head out for the summer…this means the beginning of graduation season, hanging with family and getting on planes, trains and in automobiles.

There you have it, the last three weeks consolidated into 5 bullet points.

About The Black Gringa

In 2010, I left the world of finance to pursue entrepreneurial aspirations and I now own an educational services company. I also provide consulting and workshops to international schools seeking to improve their outcomes. To facilitate this work, I spend 2-3 months annually living in a different part of the world with my family. These travels provide the day-to-day insight required to speak knowledgeably about living in these destinations, with the goal of seeking to live abundantly and joyfully with home comforts at a fraction of the cost.

One response »

Leave a Reply

