Restless Roots – Where to Next?

Standard

The problem with traveling, and enjoying it, is that once you start, it’s hard to give it up.  I fantasize about putting roots down and settling in one place…except, the reality of doing that some how scares me.  I think of the routines and habits that come along with being “settled”, the consistent parade of familiar faces, sites and scents, and I run for the nearest airport and farthest/quick destination point.  Why that is? I do not know…perhaps I do not want my roots to show. Roots being a metaphor for permanent settlement and not my socio-cultural /ethnic background.

So the constant question these days is, “Where are you going?”  My standard response has become, “The Caribbean for two months and then we will see from there.”  This is the plan that is not.   Going to Cuba has slightly side tracked my Ecuador plans because while it’s markets are spartan, compared to Cuenca (Ecuador), Cuban people are really hard to beat.  And in the end, isn’t the experience of being in a new place more about the people than the marketplace? Of course I can’t work in Cuba,  so unless I create a project for myself, the Cuban adventure will last until boredom sets in and we move off to the next country.

So, this summer’s adventure is all about discovering Cuba, its culture, history, people and food.  We will see where the adventure leads us from there.  I am committed to spending at least the next 12 months abroad, so we will see.  And if I happen to meet my prince and fall in love  in [enter the country name], I may consider planting my roots in the ground  and not simply in a portable/roll-away flowerpot.

Onward ho!

 

 

About The Black Gringa

In 2010, I left the world of finance to pursue entrepreneurial aspirations and I now own an educational services company. I also provide consulting and workshops to international schools seeking to improve their outcomes. To facilitate this work, I spend 2-3 months annually living in a different part of the world with my family. These travels provide the day-to-day insight required to speak knowledgeably about living in these destinations, with the goal of seeking to live abundantly and joyfully with home comforts at a fraction of the cost.

5 responses »

  1. Just finished reading your blog and it ends in April – were did you go? I am moving to Cuenca in the next month, and I am so wondering where you are? I LOVE your words of honesty, wisdom, and adventure – so inspiring. Please respond. Linda

  2. Hi there,

    I’m an editor of an educational publication called CultureGrams, and I’m looking for someone with experience in Cuba for a paid project. I’m hoping you might be interested or that you might be able to recommend someone who is.

    CultureGrams is a series of more than 200 country-specific reports that describe people’s daily life and culture. The audience consists primarily of North American students and educators.

    We are currently seeking someone to help us expand our preexisting Cuba report. This person would provide additional content in seven categories, writing two to three substantive paragraphs (roughly 350 words total) for each category. Contributors receive a one-time payment of $250.

    No professional writing experience is required. We ask only that reviewers be current or recent residents of the country (preferably a native of the country with at least 2.5 years of full-time residency in the last 4 years), have a college degree (or equivalent education), fluently speak the country’s official language or a major national language, and have had experience in more than one region of the country and with people of different socioeconomic levels.

    I’d be grateful if you could let me know of anyone who might be interested in this project. Applicants should email me with a brief description of how they meet the above qualifications. More information on CultureGrams is available at http://www.culturegrams.com.

    Thanks,

    Rachel Ligairi
    Rachel.Ligairi@proquest.com

Leave a Reply

