And She’s Back

Standard

It’s hard to believe that 18 months have gone by since my last post….life intervened in interesting and circuitous ways.  But alas, I’m here, happy, healthy, and excited to start talking again.   I often say that time is  like holding water in your hand, no matter how hard you try, it continues to move on.

So where have I been and what have I been doing over that last almost two years….

  • Sojourn to Turkey
  • Romance in Quebec
  • Theatrical debut
  • Non-Profit Consulting
  • Webmaster for a nationally and internationally renowned non-profit
  • Child in Senegal, West Africa for months
  • Child in College in New York (hallelujah)
  • The birth of my first nephew….I’m such a proud aunty
  • Homeschool
  • Volunteering
  • New Business Ventures
  • Life and Love

Yes – I think that about sums it up.   I’ve spent the last few months busy and slightly distracted, but constantly saying to myself, “I have to get back to the blog”. Ever the procrastinator, I am finally sitting myself down to write.

So to pick up where I left off in 2012 – I had planned to leave for Cuba with my daughter, on  one-way tickets for 2 months, then possibly do Ecuador, Panama, or Costa Rica from there.  Housing in Cuba was set, as were private tutors in chess and Spanish for the little one.  Our Cuban friends/family were waiting for us, we had our gifts all packed. And we were ready.  I had closed my business earlier in the month, tied up all lose ends and made sure that I would have access to my money.   The last piece of the puzzle was to drive to my mom in Georgia, see my sisters in Virginia, then my daughter in New York, before we were off for the flight.

With this great plan in mind, I donated or sold all of our belongings, except those that would go to my sister which I put in storage, my apartment was leased to a new tenant and I impatiently waited for June 4, 2012 to arrive, when we’d catch that glorious flight from Toronto and start off on a new adventure.

God/fate/ life….just laugh in the face of the best laid plans.  As a parting activity, we went to spend a final day volunteering at an urban farm.  The director asked my daughter a simple question, “Will you be part of our summer program this year?” That led to a discussion regarding us permanently leaving the city and them begging me to stay to work with them and their founder as the organization transitioned through a period of growth.   Don’t ask me why….. I had 2 non-refundable one-way tickets from Canada to Cuba,  I would have no apartment within a week, I had no furnishings, no winter wear , and no reason to think delaying my plans would be a good idea……but I said yes, and I did.

Six months later…after having been an interim webmaster, trainer of best practices for USDA small farm harvesting and warehousing practices, IT guru and jack-of-all trades extraordinaire— I finally said good-bye, left the city and instead of Cuba went on a 3-week sabbatical to Turkey.

I came back after Turkey (which was amazing) and started a new phase of my life with the love of my life.  It turns out that cupid/fate/life and God had a plan for me all along and whatever made me delay the Cuba trip…it was the best decision I could have ever made.    Now I get to travel the world not just with the kids, but with my life partner….and he gets to have unexpected and pseudo exotic adventures with me.   We’re all pretty happy.

So now, while I continue to sing the praises of travel and living abroad, I am also about finding the treasures in your backyard, the joys that make life rich and delightful, and living life to the fullest…cause life is too short not to be happy and follow your dreams.

Welcome and I look forward to sharing the new adventures.

About The Black Gringa

In 2010, I left the world of finance to pursue entrepreneurial aspirations and I now own an educational services company. I also provide consulting and workshops to international schools seeking to improve their outcomes. To facilitate this work, I spend 2-3 months annually living in a different part of the world with my family. These travels provide the day-to-day insight required to speak knowledgeably about living in these destinations, with the goal of seeking to live abundantly and joyfully with home comforts at a fraction of the cost.

Leave a Reply

